Citizen, Scholar, Steward

Congratulations to the class of 2018!

Last night at St. Matthews Baptist Church, graduating seniors received diplomas marking the completion of their academic career at Kentucky Country Day. Congratulations to these seniors, and welcome to the KCD Alumni Association!

Student speakers included senior class officers Robert Thomas and Patool Kutmah as well as valedictorian Shanzeh Sayied. The commencement address was given by KCD grad Reagan Carey ’97, the director of women’s hockey for USA Hockey and the general manager of the gold medal-winning US women’s Olympic hockey team. Ms. Carey challenged graduates to stay true to their unique selves and to find a sense of purpose to guide them on their journeys through life.

Each year during graduation, KCD presents several special awards to honor seniors who have demonstrated exceptional academic and moral leadership. Many of these awards are named in honor of alumni or former faculty members.


This award is given to the senior who ranks in the top 10 percent of their class in consideration of their four-year academic GPA and the rigor of the total course of study. This year’s valedictorian is Shanzeh Sayied.

Honors Program

These seniors have completed the KCD Honors Program, a rigorous, two-year course of study in the humanities: Lora Bubalo, Jackson Diaz, Ananya Jain, Julia Mendel, Emily Minor, Sriram Satyavolu, Shanzeh Sayied, Alisya Solankhi, Ruby Winocur, and Nathan Zou.

National Merit Finalists

Jackson Diaz, Ananya Jain, Shanzeh Sayied, and Nathan Zou.

Susan McElwain Memorial Award

This award is given to the senior boy or girl who is outstanding in character, scholarship, sportsmanship, and athletics. This year’s recipient is Lilly Papalia.

James Pitman Sams Jr. Award

This award is given to the senior girl or boy who has demonstrated in every capacity the high ideals of academics, sportsmanship, and citizenship and the outstanding qualities of character, leadership, and personality exemplified by this beloved alumnus. This year’s recipient is Jackson Diaz.

Science and Math Award

This award is chosen by the science and math departments and is given to one or more seniors in recognition of outstanding academic achievement, good character, and superior intellectual promise in the fields of science and math. This year’s recipients are Shanzeh Sayied and Ashton Robinson.

Chairman’s Award

This award is given to the senior or seniors who have, in the past year, shown a marked development of academic interest, concern for the school, and moral leadership. This year’s recipients are Anna Balbach, Sara Ensor, Josh Lifson, and Emily Minor.

Nancy Bowling Prize in Expository Writing

This award is chosen by the English department and is given to the senior who shows the most talent and interest in this form of prose. This year’s recipient is Ananya Jain.

Dorothy O’Brien Award

This award is given to the senior who best represents the qualities that Dorothy Caukin O’Brien fostered in her students by her own example: dedication to Kentucky Country Day School, honesty, respect for others, appreciation for work well done, and humor that restores. This year’s recipient is Caden Schuessler.

Headmaster’s Award

This award is given to the senior boy and girl who best exemplify the standards, attitude, and scholarship of Kentucky Country Day. This year’s recipients are Wilder Brice and Grace Lau.

College Matriculation

The members of the class of 2018 are attending the following colleges and universities:

American University
Auburn University
Baylor University
Bellarmine University
Belmont University
Boston College
Brown University
Bucknell University
Butler University
Case Western Reserve University
Centre College
Clark Atlanta University
Franklin & Marshall College
High Point University
Indiana University at Bloomington
Kent State University
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Miami University, Oxford
New York University
Northeastern University
Northwestern University
Pennsylvania State University
Pomona College
Purdue University
Rhodes College
The University of Alabama
The University of Edinburgh
Tulane University
United States Air Force Academy
University of Chicago
University of Cincinnati
University of Denver
University of Georgia
University of Kentucky
University of Louisville
University of Maryland, College Park
University of Miami
University of South Carolina
University of Southern California
University of Virginia
Vassar College
Wabash College
Xavier University
4100 Springdale Road • Louisville, KY 40241 • (502) 423-0440 • Fax (502) 423-0445
Kentucky Country Day School is a private JK–12, coeducational school located on a spacious 85-acre campus in Louisville, KY. KCD combines a rigorous academic program with a wide variety of athletic and extracurricular programs. Our outstanding faculty creates an intimate learning environment that is both challenging and supportive.