Citizen, Scholar, Steward

Spring athletes honored at Class Day

The Athletics department honored our spring athletes with the 2022-23 Spring Sports Awards during the Upper School’s Class Day Ceremony on Friday, May 26. 
Three awards for each sport were given: The Board Award, the Coaches Award, and the Most Improved Award.
The Board Award is recognized as a team’s highest award and is given to the player that contributed the most to the varsity program in terms of leadership, dedication, and performance. This award winner is forever recognized on the sport’s award board that hangs in Gardner Gymnasium. This award is voted on by the players and coaches.

The Coaches Award is awarded to the player that demonstrates great leadership and sportsmanship, and contributes significantly to the success of the team as selected by the coaches.

The Most Improved Award is given to the player that demonstrates the greatest improvement in performance and/or leadership over the course of the season as selected by vote of the coaches and players.

Baseball Awards
Lowry Watkins JR Board Award – Jack Stodghill
Coaches Award – Jake Figa
Most Improved – Maverick Mead

Girls Lacrosse Awards
Neal Cory Board Award – Sarah Beth Burns
Coaches Award – Wynn Evans
Most Improved – Ainsley Alexander

Boys Lacrosse Awards
Neal Cory Board Award – Will Liggett
Coaches Award – Rex Rumpke
Most Improved – Dylan Keene

Boys Tennis Awards
Marshall Bullitt Watkins Board Award – Charlie Lewis
Coaches Award – Peter Zhang
Most Improved – Caden Wang

Girls Tennis Awards
Marshall Bullitt Watkins Board Award – Julie Bedard
Coaches Award – Hailey Hertzman
Most Improved – Makenna Mack

Boys Track & Field Awards
Board Award – Xavier Hayden
Coaches Award – Ahilan Rangaswamy
Most Improved – Rodrigo Guimaraes

Girls Track & Field Awards
Board Award – Haley Schoenegge
Coaches Award – Symone Jackson
Most Improved – Ashley Cho

ESports Awards
Board Award – Roderick Purdy
Coaches Award – Derock Xie
Most Improved – Zeynep Yesil

Boys Archery Awards
Board Award – Parker McCurry
Coaches Award – Chance Sheridan

Girls Archery Awards
Board Award – Addi Elliott
Coaches Award – Reagan Johnson
Most Improved – Isla Ford

Three-Sport Athletes
  • Ellie Beam (Field Hockey, Basketball, Lacrosse)
  • Nehemiah Brown-Hamlin (Football, Basketball, Track & Field)
  • Sarah Beth Burns (Field Hockey, Basketball, Lacrosse)
  • Aspen Caudill (Soccer, Swimming & Diving, Lacrosse)
  • Cameron Edwards (Football, Basketball, Track & Field)
  • Ryan Johnson (Golf, Basketball, Lacrosse)
  • Haney Sequeira (Football, Basketball, Baseball)
  • Jack Stodghill (Golf, Basketball, Baseball)
  • Caden Wang (Cross Country, Track & Field, Tennis)
  • Tyler Wilson (Football, Basketball, Baseball)

Four-Sport Athletes
  • Addison Garlove (Soccer, Swimming & Diving, Tennis, Track & Field)
  • Maddox Miller (Cross Country, Golf, Swimming & Diving, Track & Field)
  • Alex Ramirez-Acaza (Football, Lacrosse, Track and Field, Swimming)

Congratulations to all of our spring athletes!
    • Spring Sport Award Winners 2023

4100 Springdale Road • Louisville, KY 40241 • (502) 423-0440 • Fax (502) 423-0445
Kentucky Country Day School is a private JK–12, coeducational school located on a spacious 80+ acre campus in Louisville, KY. KCD combines a rigorous academic program with a wide variety of athletic and extracurricular programs. Our outstanding faculty creates an intimate learning environment that is both challenging and supportive.